Research

MESA Webinar 4 - How to Tackle the Challenge of Insecticide and Drug Resistance with Innovative Approaches

Welcome to a new session of the monthly MESA Webinars: Science for Malaria Impact, a platform to showcase the work of malaria-endemic researchers

01.09.2021
Date
01/09/2021
Hour
8:00 h EDT | 14:00 h CEST/CAT | 20:00 h SGT
Place
Online
Speakers
Alfred Amambua-Ngwa, Nathalie Amvongo Adjia and Abdoulaye Djimdé

A new session of the monthly MESA Webinars: Science for Malaria Impact will be held on September 1 at 2 PM CAT (8 AM EDT, 8 PM SGT). Focusing on insecticide and drug resistance, the fourth webinar will feature Alfred Amambua-Ngwa, Career Development Fellow at the Centre for Genomics and Global Health of the MRC Unit in The Gambia at LSHTM, and Nathalie Amvongo Adjia, Postdoctoral Research Associate at the Centre for Research in Infectious Diseases (CRID) in Cameroon. Abdoulaye Djimdé, CAMES Professor of Parasitology and Mycology at the Wellcome Sanger Institute in Mali, will moderate the session.

Date: Wednesday, September 1, 2021

Time: 8:00 am EDT | 2:00 pm CEST/CAT | 8:00 pm SGT

Speakers:

  • Alfred Amambua-Ngwa, Centre for Genomics and Global Health of the MRC Unit in The Gambia at LSHTM, Gambia
  • Nathalie Amvongo Adjia, Centre for Research in Infectious Diseases (CRID) and Institute of Medical Research and Medicinal Plant Study, both in Cameroon

Moderator:

  • Abdoulaye Djimdé, Wellcome Sanger Institute, Mali

Registration link: TBC

 

About MESA

The MESA Alliance believes that in order to control and eliminate malaria, there is a need to sustain, as part of a global response, the scientific research effort behind engineering innovations to better combat the disease and manage its carriers, as well as strengthening human knowledge on optimizing intervention strategies on the ground. We work towards this mission by emphasizing and complementing the use and examination of evidence in different strategic contexts, to ensure that global policymaking and programme implementations on the ground are evidence-based and strengthened through new understanding. We are hosted by the Barcelona Institute for Global Health and support fulfilling its mandate as a WHO Collaborating Centre for Malaria Control, Elimination and Eradication .


The MESA Alliance, originally named as the Malaria Eradication Scientific Alliance, was born out of a systematic review of malaria science priorities and challenges by a broad range of stakeholders and leading researchers who collaboratively produced the first Malaria Eradication Research Agenda (malERA) in 2011. It illustrated to the community at-large and to the scientific world the needs and gaps in knowledge across nine research and development areas. Since then an update exercise was conducted by bringing over 180 contributors into 6 working panels to carry out a subsequent revision to this forward-looking perspective, and the malERA Refresh agenda was released in 2017. The MESA Alliance functions behind this overarching concept that such a global agenda needs to be sustained, coordinated and optimized.